SPULEN Quick Change Short Shifter - 6spd

SPULEN Quick Change Short Shifter - 6spd
 
 
(12 reviews)

5 stars
 12 review(s)
4 stars: 
 0 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)

Only those who bought this product are allowed to add review
If you've already bought this product, please sign in and add your own review!


Customer feedback

Most useful first | Newest first  
  • Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 products)
(of 12 products)
Displaying 1 to 12
  • Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 products)
Dario Goddin
Nov 14, 2015
Installed this on my 2016 Golf R MK7. The process took about an hour or so. The most difficult piece is breaking the original shift assembly free. Don't be afraid to bang on the OEM shift assembly a bit using a socket and extension. Post installation, the difference is night and day. If you're performing this install be sure to pick up the T.S bushings to remove the slop. I ended up adjusting the throw so that it's sitting in the middle. The shorter the throw, the 'notchier' it feels, the longer the throw, the more smooth it becomes. Paired with the BFI weighted shift knob, it's a different car.
Don't forget to use a bit of grease (white lithium) in the right channel just so everything is smooth.

The part is casted and isn't the prettiest to look at but is definitely lighter than the original OEM part.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (7) / No (2)
Jimmy M
Oct 14, 2016
About a year ago I bought a Mk7 Gti and the first install was a Spulen dog bone mount insert. Sure it stiffened up the shifts a bit and eliminated wheel hop at launch, but I was looking for more to make the Gti have the "sports" car appeal. I then logged on to USP (My favorite company to give money to), and they listed the Spulen quick change short shifter. First of all, they have this part listed for way cheaper than ECS tuning, way faster shipping, and better customer service. I clicked the add to cart button and regardless of Hurricane Matthew, I received this short throw in no time. I absolutely love this purchase and it was everything I was looking for. Another great purchase from USP, and I do plan on doing more business with such a great company!!!

Advantages: *Allowing adjusting to meet what type of throw you"re looking for.
*Smooth throws and not "notchy" like your typical short throws.
*Easier to install than a headlight bulb
*Receiving supreme customer service because you dealt with USP

Disadvantages: *Just spend the extra $74.99 and get the complete kit that includes "side to side" as well.
*Side to Side is still "stock-like".
*Honestly, just spend the extra money and feel a world of difference while shifting.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Joel Vazquez
Jul 23, 2015
awesome upgrade easy to install and will male you feel like you have a new car and it goes great along with the torque solutions bushing kit

Advantages: precise shifting better feeling of your gears and obviously faster gear change
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Ирина Викторовна
Oct 26, 2015
Здравствуйте, предлагаем Вам услуги комплексного продвижения вашего сайта, подробнее с нашими услугами Вы можете ознакомиться по ссылке http://www.anacron.ru/ Извините за беспокойство.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
Andrew Nicolella
Dec 29, 2015
Very quick and easy install, video was very helpful.

Set mine to what they had in the install video and it is a very nice throw distance now. Pair this with the shifter cable bushings for a really nice, positive throw.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Chris Wright
Feb 16, 2016
Best short shifter value especially when paired with the T.S bushings. No need to spend hundreds on another setup, the shifts with this are short and solid and not too difficult/notchy.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
David Duckworth
Mar 18, 2016
Car is a 2012 Golf R

This Short Throw Shifter was easy to install (especially with the directions per the website ) and made a huge change. I would pair this with a side to side (oem or spulen) and some bushings. Love it.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Logan Hardoon
Apr 1, 2016
Just installed this part 3/31. I drive a '14 GLI 30th edition and the throw is so much shorter! It's giddy fun. I did exactly what USP's YouTube video showed and installation was effortless.

Advantages: Shorter throw
Faster shifting
Sporty feel

Disadvantages: Heavier than a stock shifter, meaning the ease of moving the shifter changed, but it's only a little noticeable
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Rafael Sanchez
Jun 4, 2016
Had the same shifter plate on my MK5 GTI so I already trusted the quality. Paired with billet end link bushings and it feels amazing!

Advantages: Tight direct shifts, noticeably smoother shifts.

Disadvantages: Stock shifter plate can
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Allan Ocariza
Sep 14, 2016
This short shifter is very nice i recomment this to everyone and i also notice the big different everytime i change gear..⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Advantages: Easy to install i just follow the video and makes easier.not hard at all.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Chris Torbett
Oct 9, 2016
This shifter paired with TS shift bushings made the one thing I disliked about the car now my favorite part. Easy install, stellar price and fitment is perfect. Install took 10 minutes. Throws are short and clean. No notchy feeling. Love it.

Advantages: Crisp short shifts
Easy install
Price
Will make you want to go drive all the time

Disadvantages: No logo
Should offer a combo with shift bushings but can and should be bought separately
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Adam
May 25, 2017
I liked what this did to my shifting but after 2500 miles it seems that the spines on the bore wore out quite a bit and it wobbles. This is despite the nut being tight on top. www.youtube.com/watch?v=SxxvSsSYqD8

Advantages: Nice shifting experience

Disadvantages: Wore out in 3 months
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
  • Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 products)

Only those who bought this product are allowed to add review
If you've already bought this product, please sign in and add your own review!