Traction Control Button Round Button Kit For MK6 Jetta Reviews

Traction Control Button Round Button Kit For MK6 Jetta
 
 
(20 reviews)

5 stars
 18 review(s)
4 stars
 2 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)




Customer feedback

Most useful first | Newest first  
  • Displaying 1 to 20 (of 20 products)
(of 20 products)
Displaying 1 to 20
  • Displaying 1 to 20 (of 20 products)
Randy S
Mar 9, 2018
Overall this is an excellent product. My only complaint of this kit, is that the connector for the ABS Module is very thin and flimsy. Inserting the wire into the ABS module is a bit of a pain. My complaint of this also extends to the wire in itself. While all of the other wires are of excellent gauge and have thick sheathing, this does not. This concerns me as this wire should have thicker sheathing, more so than any of the other wires, as it is in the engine bay exposed to extreme temps and other environmental factors. I could see the reasoning behind the thinner gauge wire, as it makes running through the firewall an easier task but a slightly larger gauge and thicker sheathing won't make the task any harder than what it actually is. This is the reason why I have rated it 4/5 instead of 5/5.

Another suggestion that I may add, is that the instructional video is limited in showing tips on how to route the wires: Through the firewall, etc. I had no problem in doing this but perhaps a user who's not as experienced would in fact have trouble trying to follow this video. One instance that comes to mind, is how in the video they never show where the wire comes out in the engine bay, leaving this up for one to figure out.

Other than the above stated, I find this to be an excellent product. Unlike other kits, the wires are all of adequate length, the connectors plug in smoothly and the finish is OEM quality. Highly recommended to anyone really! No more having VW dictate to you when you can/cant have full power running to the wheels. I live in Pennsylvania, where long hills and constant snow would constantly plague me with the blinking traction light in conjunction with reduced power at the wheels. No longer the case! Now I can power my way out of whatever situation I find myself in.

Worth noting, I installed on a 2014 Jetta TDI and there was no VCDS coding required, so another plus! Just plugged in and was good to go!!!

Oh and you can't beat the price. USP most certainly has the best pricing for this kit. Their competitor, who shall remain nameless :), sells this kit at a higher price and theirs is riddled with negative user feedback: Wires too short, sub-par quality ect.

Also, make sure that you purchase the correct kit! If you have a TDI or any VW model with a credit card holder, instead of the blanks, make sure you get the kit that states credit card holder.

Advantages: Easy to install. This ranks among the simplest of DIY jobs for your VW. Frankly, changing my DRL bulbs took longer than this (my bulbs were stuck, so I had to remove the whole headlight which requires disassemble of practically the whole nose of the car!)

Super clean look! This looks like it came original on the car, no traces of aftermarket whatsoever.

Best customer support/loyalty available: The folks over at USP are the absolute best. I accidentally purchased the incorrect model and unlike most companies which would charge you a restocking fee ect, they only charged me the difference and the shipping. I purchase a lot online and frankly this is unheard of. It seems like everyone nowadays is looking to make an extra cent however they can on the customers, not the case at all with USP.

Disadvantages: None, even with my complaint regarding the ABS wire/plug this is an excellent product.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (19) / No (2)
Davis
Aug 5, 2018
Works Great! Easy to install. Plug and Play.

Advantages: Easy to install. Turns traction control off!

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (11) / No (8)
Chris
Jul 7, 2018
Great kit. USP Motorsports does a good job in piecing these together. Installation was straight forward and fairly simple.

When I engage this button I do not get the warning light on the dash, but it seems like that's just an issue some have to live with on a certain time period of jettas. I have a 2011 TDI for reference. It does however work to turn off the traction control. After this is engaged, no lights come on upon tire spin, nor does the computer throttle the engine back, first tested that in the snow.

Advantages: Added ability to turn off traction control on cars that didn't come with the button.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (1)
Simon Vaillancourt
Nov 22, 2018
Great upgrade! No more boost lost! 100$ well spend!!

Advantages: With malone stage 1 on jetta mk6 tdi dsg + traction control button off = 0-60 in 6.6 sec & 1/4 mile in 15.18 sec.

Very good service with USPmotorsports

Disadvantages: nothing!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (1)
Scott Cavill
Jun 8, 2018
Everything showed up fine. The package was well padded with foam. Nothing was missing, and the instructions were clear. I am glad I went with USP. Everything works great!

Advantages: Easy to install kit. The youtube video helped a lot.

Disadvantages: Getting the wire through the firewall was a royal pain in the ass! Not much room under the hood in modern cars. Was a little ruff but got it done.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Marcus
Mar 15, 2018
Installed easily on my 2012 Jetta TDi sedan. Almost plug and play like the video shows. Yes pushing thru the firewall is a pain I had a helper pull while I guided), connecting in the ABS mod isn't difficult, just needs some extra attention.

Advantages: I live on a dirt road, in the mud and snow, it does wonders!

Disadvantages: No disadvantages I am aware of! Very happy! 1st timer, took an hour to install.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Mike Scribs
Aug 25, 2018
Great kit, but i wanted to clarify the difference between the square button and the round button is just that the "round button" is square with 2 corners rounded so it fits into the first spot. If someone says the button is round i expected it to be a circle. Didn't want to trust the picture as ive made that mistake before. Hopefully that doesn't trip others up. I just put mine in the second slot since i ordered the square. Getting the wire through the grommet was awful. A little more time in the video on how to do that and where it comes out would have been nice. Works like a champ though! Worth all the grief, its a different car with traction control off.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
Richard Jarvis
Sep 30, 2018
Works as advertised. Quick and easy install.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
Scott
Jan 19, 2018
works great! easy install.

Advantages: straight foreward, easy install, didn't take a lot of time.

Disadvantages: doesn't disengage the stability control
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Casey Gawriluk
Sep 22, 2018
Install was easy and looks very OEM+.

Advantages: Install was idiot proof. Looks great installed. Works awesome! Does exactly what VW went cheap on for our cars. MUST BUY!

Disadvantages: None. Install was easy. Ran into no problems. Highly recommend. Have yet to test it out at the track to see the improvements but it works great in the streets LOL
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
branden
Dec 30, 2018
works really good. easy to install and works great
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Adam Smaldon
Feb 17, 2018
Very easy item to install until the last step of putting the wire through firewall. That is a pain in the *ss I would have been done in ten minutes if it wasn't so hard to get through the firewall.

Advantages: Ease of installation

Disadvantages: Volkswagen should have these already installed it's bs that it is an accessory.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Anthony Nicola
Mar 5, 2018
This traction control button kit is terrific...you don't realize how effective it is until you actually turn the traction control off! Installed on a Malone tuned TDI, really takes advantage of all that torque

Advantages: Major improvement on ice and snow... Much improved off the line...

Disadvantages: Overall install was pretty easy... Struggle to get the wire thru the firewall..need a helper to find the fish wire. Note on a 2011 indicator light does not come on, no big deal.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Ethan Terry
May 6, 2018
I love my new traction control button it works great and only took twenty minutes to put in. The directions were spot on and made installing very simple.

Advantages: Lot easier to get off the line and not worry about power loss. Helps when you get in a sticky situation like mud or snow so you can keep the wheels turning and not lose power.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Volkswagen is # 1
Dec 22, 2018
I have a 2014 Jetta Se, I personally installed this part with no problems, thanks to the video that USP offers. But, since my Jetta is a gen 3 it's not included in the plug and play.... Which means you will need you abs mod to be programmed on top of the "plug and play" mod.

Advantages: full use of power!

Disadvantages: None !!!!!!!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Marc
Jan 17, 2018
Overall, a good product. The YouTube video is helpful but it should be specified that the easiest way to route the wire through the firewall is to find the big gromet through which the harness comes through in the engine compartment (following the ABS module harness with your fingers, as seeing the gromet from the engine compartment is next to impossible). Then, you can poke through the gromet with a wire hanger or welding rod, attach the wire to the rod using electric tape, then pull the wire through the firewall, in the engine compartment.

Note that the connector installation in the ABS plut can be a pain.

Last but not least, even though I was told otherwise in a UPS Motorsports e-mail, it only turns off traction control, and not stability control. So it is helpful for drag racing and getting out of a snow bank, but not if you want to drive "rally style".

Advantages: The button itself is a genuine VW part. So obviously, installed product looks original.

Disadvantages: Not for the unexperienced installer.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Keven G
Mar 24, 2018
thanks it works for me (jetta GLI 2012 with push key) no programmation need
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Chris
Jun 4, 2018
Great kit, comes with everything u need. I highly recommend it. This kit is a must for anyone who has to drive in snow.

Advantages: Works great, pretty easy to install and looks completely factory.

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Blaze413
Sep 21, 2018
I love USP, they got me over a lot of hurdles with my car and being a broke dude I still have a decent mk6..

Issue I have though is, this is a CHEAP ass connector to the abs box, fucking thing was half broke when I got it.. the gauge is thin AF too.. long story short; went on allie express and got the same thing if not better quality for $15

I love y'all but yo $100 for some shitty cable and a janky relay, expect so much more from one of my favorite online auto stores

Advantages: USP has put in work

Disadvantages: Made cheap as fuck
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
Shaun S.
Dec 5, 2018
Purchased the Traction Control button for my 2017 Jetta S. Super simple install in all phases. The video is very helpful and a must watch. The long coding is simple with the OBDeleven scan tool. Just go to Brakes and change the bold value numbers provided by USP on the product description. Light comes on in the dash for this particular vehicle, which is nice. I suggest for the novice installer to cut the red wire a few inches back from the pin for the ABS module. I ruined one passing it through the firewall. Just butt connect the 2 wires and do your long coding. Great Product.

Advantages: Not going to get stuck in 2 inches of snow on a flat surface! Easy install minus the firewall pull through. Factory OEM fit and finish.

Disadvantages: None.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
  • Displaying 1 to 20 (of 20 products)